European Society for the History of Economic Thought

First Annual Arizona State University Winter Institute for the History of Economic Thought - Tempe, Arizona, January 23-25, 2020

Deadline for submissions July 15, 2019

The 1st Winter Institute for the History of Economic Thought will be held at Arizona State University in Tempe, Arizona, January 23-25, 2020.

The Winter Institute has been conceived as an annual small conference following the tradition laid down by Sandra Peart and David Levy in their Summer Institute for the Preservation of the History of Economic Thought. The Summer Institute was held fifteen times, most recently in 2015, and offered a forum where both early-career and distinguished scholars could meet, network, and present work in progress to an audience of engaged peers. Past speakers at the Summer Institute included Brad Bateman, Peter Boettke, Mauro Boianovsky, Marcel Boumans, James Buchanan, David Colander, Evelyn Forget, Dan Hammond, Samuel Hollander, Kevin Hoover, Deirdre McCloskey, Steve Medema, Phil Mirowski, Mary Morgan, Maria Pia Paganelli, Malcolm Rutherford, Warren Samuels, Gordon Tullock, Anthony Waterman, and Roy Weintraub.

Like Levy and Peart before us, our primary goal is to provide a workshop setting, no less academically rigorous for its conviviality, in which early-career scholars and more eminent members of the field can engage with each other’s work. Of course, we have had to make a significant change to the Peart-Levy model: given that no one, even those of us who live here, wants to visit the Phoenix metropolitan area during the summer months (average daily high temperature: 105 F / ~41 C), we have moved the Institute to the winter, when Phoenix is a delightful place to be. This change bears the added benefits that most South American universities are on summer break and the rest of North America is usually frozen at this time of year.

The most important part of the Peart-Levy Institute model that we are determined to maintain is their commitment to encouraging younger scholars in the field. Of the 12 presentation spots that we have available, 6 will be reserved for scholars within 2 years of completion of their PhD. We are also able to support a few scholars who would just like to attend the Institute without presenting their work. Of course, anyone local to Arizona or who would otherwise like to attend, albeit without financial support, is welcome.

Participants should arrange to arrive in Phoenix on or before Thursday, January 23, 2020. An opening reception will be held that evening. Six sessions per day will be held on Friday the 24thand Saturday the 25th, with a closing dinner following the final Saturday session.

Those selected to present at the Institute will receive a $750 honorarium, while non-presenters invited to attend will receive a $500 honorarium. In addition, everyone will receive between-session coffee breaks, Institute-related meals, hotel accommodation, and a free t-shirt for participation in the Winter Institute. 

We invite proposals in any area, on any topic, from any perspective, relevant to the history of economic thought. If you would like to present at the Institute, please provide an abstract of no more than 250 words and a brief CV of no more than 2 pages. If you would like to attend without presenting a paper, please provide only a brief CV. Please submit your materials to The deadline for submissions is July 15, 2019. Notifications will be sent by September 1, 2019. 

The organizers of the ASU Winter Institute for the History of Economic Thought: 

Tyler DesRoches
Assistant Professor of Sustainability and Human Well-Being, School of Sustainability
Assistant Professor of Philosophy, School of Historical, Philosophical and Religious Studies
Arizona State University

Ross Emmett
Director, Center for the Study of Economic Liberty
Professor of Political Economy, School of Civic and Economic Thought and Leadership
Arizona State University

Scott Scheall
Assistant Professor of Social Science, College of Integrative Sciences and Arts
Arizona State University

On behalf of the Winter Institute Scientific Committee: 

John B. Davis
Professor Emeritus of Economics, Marquette University and University of Amsterdam

Marianne Johnson
Professor of Economics, University of Wisconsin - Oshkosh

Maria Pia Paganelli
Associate Professor of Economics, Trinity University

Carlos Eduardo Suprinyak
Associate Professor of Economics, Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais

The ASU Winter Institute for the History of Economic Thought is sponsored by The Center for the Study of Economic Liberty and the School for Civic and Economic Thought and Leadership at ASU, as well as the History of Economics Society.