European Society for the History of Economic Thought

Gilles Dostaler Award

 The GILLES DOSTALER AWARD is an award created in the memory of Gilles Dostaler, thanks to the generosity of his widow Marielle Cauchy. This prize recognizes scholarly achievements of young research fellows working on one of Gilles Dostaler’s many fields of interest — e.g., Marx and Classical political economy, Keynes, Hayek, critical approaches to free markets theories, relationships between economics, politics, philosophy and ethics, etc. It is awarded to scholars below the age of 35 at the time of the annual conference in recognition of an outstanding article not necessarily already published or published within the two previous years. It consists of 500 euro and a waiving of the conference fee when the prize is awarded.


Nominations for 2024 edition should be sent as soon as possible, but not later than 30 December 2023 to the Chair of the relevant panel: Michel Zouboulakis (

Please note also the following points:
Self-nominations are not accepted.
Nominations should include:
(i) Full bibliographic details of the article.
(ii) A short statement (in English) of why the  article merits being considered for a prize.
(iii) An electronic copy of the book or article, if this is available.
 The final decision on the prize will be made by the Council of ESHET in Graz
Rules for Awards
- No current member of the Council, Executive Committee or Senate is eligible for an academic prize or grant awarded by ESHET.
- Nobody can receive more than one award of the Society for the same work.
- Any member of an awarding committee needs to declare the extent of his/her institutional connections and/or extent of collaboration with the persons eligible for academic prizes. 


Winners of past editions


2024 -Edoardo PERUZZI, University of Siena 

2023 - Adrien FAUDOT, Université Grenoble Alpes

2022 - Nicolas Camilotto, Université Côte d’Azur, CNRS GREDEG

2021 - Quentin Couix, Centre d’Economie de la Sorbonne, Université Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne

2020 - Pierre Hernan-Rojas, Université Paris Nanterre

2019 - Raphaël Fèvre, Department of Politics and International Studies, University of Cambridge

2018 - Regis Servant,   Université Paris 1 – Panthéon-Sorbonne

2017 - Reinhard Schumacher, Universität Potsdam

2016 - Lucy Brillant, Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne

2015 - Philippe Gillig, Université de Strasbourg

2014 - Laurie BreĢban, Université Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne

2013 - Not awarded

2012 - Mario Cedrini, Università degli studi di Torino