European Society for the History of Economic Thought

Young Scholars Seminar

"I believe the students we train would end up as better economists if they had greater exposure to the history of economic thought (which, at this point, is pretty much null)" (Dani Rodrik).



ESHET invites young scholars persons currently enrolled in a PhD, or who have been awarded a PhD no more than two years prior to the date of the relevant ESHET conference (and regardless of age)  to submit their work to the Young Scholars Seminar to be held on the occasion of the ESHET Conference in Liège, 1 – 3 June 2023. Papers co-authored by PhD supervisors or other senior researchers are not eligible. The grants for the scholars selected to the Young Scholars Seminar are sponsored by the European Journal of the History of Economic Thought.

Up to six submissions will be selected: The travel expenses will be covered up to €300, the accommodation costs up to €80/night for three nights, and no registration fee will be charged. Moreover, the grantee scholars will be invited to the conference dinner. The authors of the selected papers will have 20 minutes each to present the paper, and a senior scholar will discuss it. Papers may be on any topic relevant to the history of economics and are not restricted to the conference theme.

ESHET encourages young scholars to participate in the conference. A one-year ESHET membership is offered to all young scholars who submit a paper. Papers that have not been selected for the grant will be considered for presentation at other ESHET 2023 conference sessions.

Candidates should e-mail a paper no longer than 9000 words to Professors CATHERINE HERFELD (, MARIO CEDRINI (, and PIERRICK CLERC ( by 13 February 2023.

Please include documentation of your (and your co-authors) position vis-à-vis your PhD and indicate in the subject of your e-mail: For Young Scholar Seminar.

Decisions can be expected by 31 March 2023.

List of the selected applicants

-- Mohib Ali (

-- Laura Bonino (

-- Michele Ceruzzi (

-- George Dimos (

-- Nestor Lovaro Nieto (

--Ivan Sternick (



For the names of the winners of the past editions please click on "ESHET grants" in the left menu.